Classick Material 2004-06-27 Set 1

2006-03-13

Classick Material was the greatest hip hop radio show I have been exposed to. It continually rejuvenated the old and forgotten and the new and slept on hiphop. Every Sunday from 12AM-3AM Mista Boxx, DJ Ethical and Glass would tear up the decks with classic hip hop, always digging deep. Self proclaimed "best hip hop show on radio". I read once somewhere that they used up to four turntables to get such a fluid, flawless sound. Live vinyl radio at it's best. No doubt. Mista Boxx is dead on point when he says this is music you'll be listening to in ten or twenty years.

On October 25 2004 Classick Material stopped broadcasting forever. Sad day. Mista Boxx did a few solo(?) shows on CIUT/Project Bounce after this, but it didn't last. I haven't heard a thing about these
guys since.

I knew about this show for months and smacked myself every time I didn't hit "record". After fiddling around with an old tape recorder for about 20 minutes and not getting anywhere I decided to use my PC to record these gems. The rest is history. This set is from the first shows I recorded.

classick_material-ciut_89.5fm-2004_06_27-set1.mp3 [ rapidshare.de ]

playlist
[ talk ]
rockmaster scott & the dynamic three – request line
utfo – leader of the pack
public enemy – night of the living baseheads
digital underground – doowutchyalike
epmd – so wat cha sayin'
de la soul – me myself and i
the b-boys – girls part 2
kool g rap – riker's island

EDIT: Reposted March 27 2006.

One Response to “Classick Material 2004-06-27 Set 1”

  1. izzi-x Says:

    Excelente aporte compañero.- Me haces retornar a la cuna.-

    Ýou can see (or download) more Classik Material on my web site http://www.izzix.da.ru in the section RETRO-RAP-ORAMA

    enjoy it and thanks for the classik


Leave a Reply

